Pubished on 17 September 2018
Demons not within cooee of dazzling Dogs

Phillip Island roared to a stunning win over Koo Wee Rup in Saturday’s Alex Scott & Staff West Gippsland Football Netball Competition grand final.

The Bulldogs went into the game as slight favourites, but absolutely dominated to such an extent that the Demons were unable to register a goal in the extraordinary 14.18 (102) to 0.3 (3) defeat.

Island forward Aaron Edwards finished with four goals and was awarded the AFL Victoria Country Medal as best on ground, with Jack Taylor booting three, James Taylor and Jordan Patullo two apiece and Hayden Bruce, Jaymie Youle and Jarrod Witnish contributing one each.

It was the Bulldogs’ first senior flag since 2014 and the result ensured Koo Wee Rup’s 37-year wait for a senior premiership continued.

It was better news for the Demons in the reserves decider, as Koo Wee Rup made it back to back flags with an 8.3 (51) to 2.1 (13) win against Inverloch Kongwak.

Phillip Island also tasted success in the thirds grand final, with a 3.8 (26) to 1.6 (12) win against Cora Lynn.

Bulldog Connor Thompson won the AFL Victoria Country Medal as best on ground, with Billy Taylor (two goals), Levi Robinson, Brodie Anderson, Max Mattock and Daniel Bourke among the other stars.

Koo Wee Rup kicked this off with a 10-point win in the fourths decider.

Nick Prowd led the way with an outstanding performance to win the medal as best on ground in the 4.3 (27) to 2.5 (17) victory.

Matt Voss, Luke Jackman, Riley Dolan, Ethan McDonald and Jackson Ventura were the other standouts for the Demons, with Mitchell Moschetti, Jack Wilson and Finlay Cousins battling hard for the Island.

More to follow.