Pubished on 23 August 2017
Premiership battle begins

The inaugural Alex Scott and Staff West Gippsland Football Netball Competition finals series kicks off this weekend, with qualifying and elimination finals at Koo Wee Rup and Inverloch recreation reserves.


Despite hosting the elimination final on Sunday, Inverloch Kongwak Football Netball Club will be keeping a close eye on what unfolds at Koo Wee Rup on Saturday, with the winner of the seniors football qualifying final between Cora Lynn and Dalyston set to meet the Sea Eagles in the second semi-final the following week.

The loser of the qualifying final will meet the winner of the elimination final between Nar Nar Goon and Phillip Island, who met as recently as the final round of the home and away season.

In A grade netball, Korumburra Bena is a red hot favourite, having navigated the home and away season without dropping a game, and the Giants will be watching from the sidelines as Dalyston and Phillip battle for a berth in what is a certain all South Gippsland second semi final.

Koo Wee Rup and Nar Nar Goon will fight to be the sole remaining West Gippsland representative in the A grade premiership race when they meet in the elimination final on Saturday, with the Demons hoping to make the most of the familiar surroundings.

SENIORS: 2.00pm – Cora Lynn v Dalyston
RESERVES: 12.10pm – Nar Nar Goon v Phillip Island 
THIRDS: 10.30am – Garfield v Phillip Island
FOURTHS: 9.00am – Bunyip v Phillip Island
A GRADE: 2.15pm – Dalyston v Phillip Island
B GRADE: 1.00pm – Inverloch Kongwak v Dalyston
C GRADE: 12.00pm – Cora Lynn v Koo Wee Rup
17&Under: 11.00am – Korumburra Bena v Inverloch Kongwak
15&Under: 10.00am – Korumburra Bena v Inverloch Kongwak
13&Under: 9.00am – Cora Lynn v Phillip Island

SENIORS: 2.00pm – Nar Nar Goon v Phillip Island
RESERVES: 12.10pm – Dalyston v Garfield
THIRDS: 10.30am – Bunyip v Inverloch Kongwak
FOURTHS: 9.00am – Cora Lynn v Korumburra Bena
AGRADE: 2.15pm – Koo Wee Rup v Nar Nar Goon
B GRADE: 1.00pm – Nar Nar Goon v Cora Lynn
C GRADE: 12.00pm – Korumburra Bena v Bunyip
17&Under: 11.00am – Cora Lynn v Phillip Island
15&Under: 10.00am – Dalyston v Cora Lynn
13&Under: 9.00am – Korumburra Bena v Dalyston