Pubished on 5 July 2018
Sons of the West

The Alex Scott & Staff West Gippsland Football Netball Competition has announced its teams to contest next week’s Evans Petroleum Cup carnival at Yinnar.

Under-16 coach Brendan Hickman has announced his squad, with six of the league’s 10 clubs represented in the team, led by Phillip Island with eight selections.

Bunyip’s Heath Morgan-Morris has been named skipper of the side, with Koo Wee Rup’s Nick Prowd his vice-captain.

Under-18 Shaun Sparks has named 14 players from the successful Worksafe Community Championships clash, with nine new faces drafted in.

The WGFNC will face teams from the TRFM Gippsland League, Ellinbank and District Football League, Mid Gippsland Football League, AGL Loy Yang North Gippsland Football Netball League and a combined side from the East Gippsland and Omeo District football netball leagues.


Under-16 squad: Jarra Davis, Jake Stewart, Heath Morgan-Morris (C), Edmond Hately-Smith (Bunyip), Jett Pickering, Andrew Fitzpatrick, Joshua Evans (Garfield), Jackson Ventura, Matt Voss, Lachlan McLeod, Luke Jackman, Nick Prowd (VC), Riley Dolan (Koo Wee Rup), Jake Anthony, Mitch Nicholas (Korumburra-Bena), Jacobus Hynes, Flynn Parker (Nar Nar Goon), Mitchell Moschetti, Josh Ryan, Kai Mackenzie, Oscar Marks, Jarrod Anderson, Keith Robinson, Harry O’Brien, Jack Wilson (Phillip Island)

Under-18 squad: 

Jarred Mills, Dylan Gallasch (Bunyip), Jay Verhagen, Levi Munns, Brayden Weller, Chase Blackwood, Luke Hartley, Gus De Costa, Liam Taylor (Cora Lynn), Joe Verleg, Zac Souter, Trent McMahon, Fletcher Rennie, Noah Glen (Garfield), Kyle Valentine (Inverloch-Kongwak), Mitch Cammarano, Tom Glassborrow (Koo Wee Rup), Joel Anthony, Josh Hill, Brad Monson (Korumburra-Bena), Cooper Hampton, Joel Motta (Nar Nar Goon), Noah Bee Hickman (Phillip Island)

Evans Petroleum Cup details:

Where: Yinnar Recreation Reserve, 88-144 Jumbuk Rd, Yinnar

When: Wednesday, 11 July

WGFNC games schedule:

9:30am – West Gippsland U16 v Ellinbank District (Eastern Oval)

10:25am – West Gippsland U18 v Ellinbank District (Eastern Oval)

11:20am – West Gippsland U16 v Mid Gippsland (Eastern Oval)

12:15pm – West Gippsland U18 v North Gippsland (Eastern Oval)

2:10pm – West Gippsland U16 v East Gippsland/Omeo District (Eastern Oval)

3:05pm – West Gippsland U18 v Gippsland (Western Oval)

4:00pm – West Gippsland U16 v Gippsland (Western Oval)

5:00pm – Presentations