Pubished on 14 May 2018
West names its best

The Alex Scott and Staff West Gippsland Football Netball Competition’s senior interleague team has received a major boost ahead of this weekend’s Worksafe AFL Victoria Community Championships match, with reigning competition best-and-fairest Andy Soumilas drafted into the side.

Soumilas was not included in the initial squad due to uncertainty over his availability but has since given coach Mark Lafferty the green light and now appears a certain starter against Maryborough Castlemaine and District at Garfield on Saturday.

The gun on-baller is among six Sea Eagles in the final 25, with Lewis Rankin and Adam Cross also late additions from the reigning premiers.

Nine of the competition’s 10 clubs are represented in the team, with just three members of last year’s side returning for the red and gold.

Under-18 coach Shaun Sparks has also finalised his squad, with an even spread of representatives from eight of the 10 clubs in the final 22.

Both teams have their final training sessions on Thursday night, followed by a jumper presentation at Pakenham Racing Club.

Matches take place at Garfield Recreation Reserve on Saturday, with the under-18 game kicking off at 12pm, ahead of the senior clash at 2.30pm.


Senior squad: Justin McCleary, Nathan Allen, Jason Fisher (Bunyip), Rylan Smith, Chris Johnson, Jaxon Briggs (Cora Lynn), Kurt Thomas, Michael Marotta (Dalyston), Sam Batson, Michael Wallace, Daniel Johnson, Jayden Goumas (Garfield), Shem Hawking, Corey Casey, Campbell McKenzie, Andy Soumilas, Adam Cross, Lewis Rankin (Inverloch Kongwak), Jake Weightman (Kilcunda Bass), Jake McMillan, Alex Johnson (Korumburra-Bena), Todd Beck (Nar Nar Goon), Mark Griffin, Zak Vernon and Aaron Edwards (Phillip Island)

Under-18 squad: Aaron Warner, Jarred Mills (Bunyip), Jay Verhagen, Luke Hartley, Josh Arena, Brayden Weller, Chase Blackwood (Cora Lynn), Trent McMahon, Zac Soutar, Tom Fitzpatrick, Fletcher Rennie (Garfield), Jarvis Pryor, Kyle Valentine (Inverloch-Kongwak), Mitch Leek, Mitch Cammarano, Luke Edwards (Koo Wee Rup), Joel Anthony (Korumburra-Bena), Joel Motta, Jake Tabone (Nar Nar Goon), Max Mattock, Brodie Anderson and Nick Anderson (Phillip Island).

Emergencies: Cooper Hampton (Nar Nar Goon) and Kyle Hutchinson (Inverloch-Kongwak)